Gov. Cox, others, to speak at Utah Foundation luncheon

March 19, 2024 (Utah Policy)

The Utah Foundation is pleased to announce our celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the Utah Priorities Project with a discussion about what matters most.

  • March 20th
  • 11:45am until 1:30pm
  • The Grand America Hotel

The Annual Luncheon will include a conversation with Governor Spencer J. Cox about the state’s policy priorities. We will also hear from three speakers discussing some of the most important policy topics of the year:

  • Carly Maloney is a Viewmont High School teacher and Utah’s 2024 Teacher of the Year.
  • Dr. Brian Steed is executive director of the Janet Quinney Lawson Institute for Land, Water, and Air at Utah State University and the state’s Great Salt Lake Commissioner.
  • Steve Waldrip is Utah’s Senior Advisor for Housing Strategy and Innovation.

The event will include our annual awards ceremony honoring two outstanding Utahns with our Insight Award:

  • President Deneece Huftalin has served as the eighth president of Salt Lake Community College since 2014.
  • Natalie Gochnour currently serves as associate dean of the David Eccles School of Business, director of the Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute at the University of Utah, and the chief economist for the Salt Lake Chamber.

We will also honor the Larry H. & Gail Miller Family Foundation with our Civic Cornerstone Award. Zane Miller will be accepting the award on behalf of the Miller Family Foundation which was established in 2007 to continue the philanthropic spirit exemplified by Larry and Gail Miller for future generations. The Miller Family Foundation supports programs that enrich lives and communities in the areas of health and medicine, shelter and food security, education and skill development, jobs and economic self-reliance, and cultural and spiritual enrichment.

Utah Foundation President Shawn Teigen notes that, “we are excited to reveal the 20th anniversary results of the Utah Priorities Project at our Annual Luncheon.” He goes on to say that “not only will we hear about what matters most to Utahns, but we are also honored to be joined by President Huftalin, Natalie Gochnour, and representatives from the Miller Family Foundation as our annual awards recipients.”

  View Article